LaSalle Speedway
LaSalle, IL

Official web site:

Quick Links

Free Classifieds

Writers Needed!

Custom Novelties
Highlighted Tracks
Driver's Stories
Team News
Meet the RaceStar
Custom Team Apparel
No Set Up Fees!
Sponsor Plaques
Advertise with us

RaceStar Home

Contact RaceStar

                                     "THAW BRAWL" NIGHT #2  - ROCKY RAGUSA PHOTOS

Saturday night's UMP Modified feature winner Frank Marshall

Bobby Pierce won both nights in the Late Model division

Lukes Gash won the Street Stock feature

Frank Marshall held off Jamie Lomax (36) to win the modified feature

Bobby Pierce overtakes Ricky Weiss

Gash bested Friday night's feature winner Eddie Wolf in the Street Stock division

Frank Heckenast Jr. won a Fan Fueled $1500 sponsorship

Jake Momper




Pierce Blast Field at LaSalle’s Thaw Brawl
By Rocky Ragusa

Bobby Pierce battles Tim McCreadie Friday night at La Salle Speedway

LaSalle, Ill. (4/3/15) Bobby Pierce took the lead from Ricky Weiss on the fourth lap and never looked back, on the opening night of the season opening race at the LaSalle Speedway. Pierce had a brief challenge from Tim McCreadie following a caution on the 31st lap, but Pierce proved to be superior. The 50 lap, $5000 to win race was sanctioned by the Sunoco ALMS and drew 30 cars. Area standout, Mike Spatola was the events fast qualifier. Heat race winner were Weiss, Brandon Sheppard, and Pierce. Jason Feger was forced to make an engine change after his hest race, but returned to win the Semi- Feature. Pierce, the 2014 UMP National Champion, was followed to the line by McCreadie, Denis Erb Jr., Sheppard, Brian Shirley, Weiss, Spatola, Scott Bloomquist, Kevin Weaver, and Kolby Vandenbergh.

 Steven Brooks wrestled the lead from Kenny Wallace on the second lap to win the $1500 to win, UMP Modified feature. Mark Anderson made a late race charge to take second, followed by Jamie Lomax, Ray Bollinger, Wallace, A.J. Fike, Rusty Griffaw, Travis Steaber, Allen Weisser, and Collin Thirlby. Lomax set quick time among the 22 cars on hand. Wallace, Brooks, and Fike took heat race wins.

 Eddie Wolf survived a spirited duel from Luke Gash to take the UMP Street Stock feature. Gash pulled along Wolf several times, but Wolf, a former pavement racer, held stout. Gash, Dennis Wornle, Keith Blun, Lon Franks, Pete O'Dell, Chad Rockeflle, Kevin Lenzen, Wayne Huffman, and Brendon Ramer completed the top ten. Frank and O'Dell took heat wins.

 Defending Hornet track champion, Jake Momper successfully started his season with a win the Hornet race. Momper was trailed by Brian Deavers and Mike Cunz.

 Action returns tonite with the Fourth annual ''Thaw Brawl'', paying $15,000 to the winner. The race will be sanctioned by the Sunoco ALMS and drivers will face 75 laps on the 1/4 dirt oval. UMP Modifed drivers will have a $1500 show, along with Street Stocks and Hornet drivers to round out the program.


Bobby Pierce celebrates his first win of the year.

Eddie Wolf, winner of the Street Stock feature.

Steven Brooks his joined by his family and crew following his win in the UMP Modified race.

93 Wolf, battles 13 Luke Gash in the waning laps.

10 A.J. Fike battles 43 Mark Anderson

36, Kenny Wallace tries to hold off Ray Bollinger

36  The Lake Village Inferno", Jamie Lomax took fast time honors in the UMP Modified class.

89 Mike "Opie" Spatola set fast time in the ALMS contest.