Fairbury American Legion Speedway
Fairbury, IL


Quick Links

Free Classifieds

Writers Needed!

Custom Novelties
Highlighted Tracks
Driver's Stories
Team News
Meet the RaceStar
Custom Team Apparel
No Set Up Fees!
Sponsor Plaques
Advertise with us

RaceStar Home

Contact RaceStar

                                         Fairbury American Legion Speedway News

By Rocky Ragusa

 The Fairbury American Legion Speedway held their annual awards banquet Saturday night at the Walton Center, in Fairbury.

After race director, Matt Curl, and Marketing Director, Gunner Sullivan welcomed drivers, crews, families, and fans; a highlight video of the 2014 races season was shown, courteous of Hunter Sayers and Donald Wilder.

Track announcer, Mike Norris introduced Ricky Bane of Rural Route Repair, who awarded a prize to the “hard charger” of each respected division. Steve Thorsten and his team were the last to load up following each night of racing and race fan, Jake Green presented Thorsten with a special plaque. Norris then presented the top ten in each of the four classes.

The drivers each received a trophy and a check. Scott Bull joined Jack Tyne and Tom Rients, as the only drivers to win three straight track titles in the premier UMP Late Model class. Picking up their first ever titles were Brandon Kessinger (Street Stock), Jeffrey Ledford (Sportsman), and Jay Ledford (Modified). The Ledford’s became the first father and son to win a title at Fairbury in the same year.

 The schedule has been announced for the 2015 race season. Action will begin on April 11 for a test and tune, with the season opener on April 18.

DirtonDirt.com awarded the race on the year for the second straight year for the 25th annual “Prairie Dirt Classic.” This year’s race will be held on July 24-25, sanctioned by the World of Outlaws and award the winner, $26,000. Tim McCreadie is the defending race winner.

The American Modified Series will make to visit to the ¼ dirt oval, highlighted by the 3rd annual Casey’s Modified Nationals, with a $10,000 first prize, making it the largest paying Modified race in the state.

The Alkota “Keep It Clean” Series will return again, with the overall hard charger, winning a pressure washer, sponsored by Rural Route Repair and M and M Pumps.

 More information on the 2015 schedule can be found at fairburyspeedway.com.

UMP Street Stock Top 10. standing left to right Matt Maier, Jason Maier, Brandon Kessinger, Nick Clubb,
 A.J. Meiferdt kneeing Justin Nelson, Eric Gaus

UMP Sportsman Richard Craven, Tyler Roth, Amber Crouch, Jeffrey Ledford, Eric Legner,
 Dustin Mounce, Anthony Craven

UMP Modified Dave Porth, Jeff Curl, Jay Ledford, Lance Dehm, Jimmy Dehm, Cullen Breeden

UMP Late Model Daniel Flessner, Scott Bull, McKay Wenger, Steve Thorsten

Alkota "Keep It Clean" Street Stock hard charger, Matt Maier

Alkota "Keep It Clean" hard chargers Scott Bull (late model), Amber Crouch (sportsman),
Ricky Bane (owner of Rural Route Repair), Jay Ledford (modified)

Steve Thorsten and his team received a plaque from Jake Green for winning a special pit crew challenge.
the winner was determined by the last team to load up and exit the pit area each race night